About the Trust

The objectives of the Trust are:

  • To promote knowledge and awareness of the life and work of Archbishop Romero.
  • To encourage and organise prayer services and memorial liturgies annually on the anniversary of his death.
  • To provide support to human rights and social justice initiatives in Latin America which carry forward the tradition of his work.

The Trust organises memorial liturgies each year around March 24th, Romero Day; it also organises an annual Archbishop Romero Lecture, provides materials for local Romero events and produces a twice-yearly newsletter, ‘Romero News’. The ‘Friends of Romero’ is a network of solidarity set up by the Trust to further this work and to involve and include others.

The Trustees are:

Julian Filochowski - Co-Chair
Stephen Davies - Co-Chair
Clare Dixon - Co-Chair
Rev. Richard Carter
Micheal Egan - Treasurer
Jan Graffius
Bishop Nicholas Hudson
Sr Eileen McLoughlin
Rev. Jim O'Keefe
David Skidmore - Minutes
Rev. Frank Turner SJ
Jenny Rossiter - Membership Secretary

The Patrons of the Trust are:

Most Rev. Leo Cushley - Archbishop of St Andrews and Edinburgh
Sr Maria Julia Garcia - Missionary Carmelite of St Teresa 
Very Rev. Dr John Hall - Emeritus Dean of Westminster Abbey 
Most Rev. Diarmuid Martin - Emeritus Archbishop of Dublin
Cardinal Vincent Nichols - Archbishop of Westminster
​Most Rev. John Sentamu - Emeritus Archbishop of York
Mgr Rafael Urrutia - Chancellor, Archdiocese of San Salvador
Lord Rowan Williams - Emeritus Archbishop of Canterbury