With British Parliamentarians 1978

116 British Parliamentarians nominated Archbishop Romero for the 1978 Nobel Peace Prize.  In December 1978 the British Parliamentary Human Rights Group sent a delegation to El Salvador made up of the Crossbench Peer, Lord Chitnis, Conservative MP, Peter Bottomley, and Labour MP, Dennis Canavan, They were accompanied by Julian Filochowski then working for CIIR.  During the visit they met with Archbishop Romero and attended his Sunday Mass. In July 2015 a celebration was held in the State Rooms in Speaker's House, the House of Commons, to mark the nomination and with awards presented by the Government of El Salvador to Eric Avebury, Peter Bottomley and Kevin McNamara.